Ronan looking to build on Cyprus Cup performance against Austria

Republic of Ireland Senior Women’s Team manager Sue Ronan is looking for her team to build on their successful Cyprus Cup campaign when they face Austria in a friendly international at Tallaght Stadium tomorrow (7.30pm)

Last March, Ireland topped their group at the Cyprus Cup following wins over Northern Ireland and South Africa and draw with World No.16 South Korea before losing 1-0 to World No.19 Finland in the play-off for seventh place, a match Ronan and her players felt they could and probably should have won.

Now, they are back in Ireland, after a year on the road, for their first home match since the European Championship qualifier against Scotland in Turner’s Cross 12 months ago and Ronan is keen that they produce the sort of performance that caught the eye of many observers in Cyprus last March.

“The performance is what I am looking for tomorrow,” said Ronan. “We gave a very good account of ourselves in Cyprus and we need to build on that. We were excellent in the three group games and played well against Finland but failed to put them away when we had the chances. We knew we missed an opportunity to claim a big scalp and that hurt.

“Now we’ve got to push on and build on those results and performances. Austria and ourselves are pretty much on the same level as we are ranked 32nd and they are 34th so this is a good test for us and another opportunity to gauge where we are at before we start the World Cup qualifiers in September.”

Ronan won’t name her team until tomorrow as she admits she still has a few selection issues to make a decision on.

“The response from the girls in training since we came together on Saturday has been tremendous and I have a few ideas going around in my head so I won’t make up my mind until tomorrowmorning.”

Peamount United’s Aine O’Gorman and Sara Lawlor were both forced to withdraw from the original squad because of injury and they were replaced by the IT Sligo duo of Geraldine McLaughlin and Deirdre Doherty but Ronan has also added Peamount’s Dora Gorman to the matchday squad after she impressed during training.

“Dora has been out for the past year with a bad hamstring injury but we brought her in to train with us this week and I intended having a good look at her during the World Students Games next month. However, she’s been excellent in training this week. She’s fit and looks very sharp so I have decided to add her to the matchday squad.”

Gorman, who hails from Galway, was captain of the Irish U17 team that reached the European Championship Final and World Cup quarter-final in 2010.


Tomorrow’s game is part of the squad’s build up to the FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifying campaign which will kick off in September with a home game against Slovakia. Also in Ireland’s group are Germany, Russia, Croatia and Slovenia, who were beaten 3-1 on June 2 by Austria.


Austria Head Coach Dominik Thalhammer has named an 18 strong squad that contains just three players over the age of 22. Nine of the squad are based in Austria with the remainder playing for clubs in Germany, Switzerland, Spain and America.


The referee for Tuesday's game will Morag Pirie from Scotland


Tuesday’s match in Tallaght Stadium kicks-off at 7.30pm and admission to the game will be €10 with U16s admitted free of charge.


Republic of Ireland Squad: Emma Byrne (Arsenal), Eve Badana (Drexel University), Seana Cooke (Raheny United), Yvonne Tracy (Arsenal), Megan Campbell (Raheny United), Sophie Perry (Unattached), Meabh De Burca (Eskilstuna United), Louise Quinn (Eskilstuna United), Karen Duggan (Peamount United), Diane Caldwell (Avaldsness), Julie Ann Russell (Peamount United), Ciara Grant (Raheny United), Rachel Graham (Raheny United), Shannon McDonnell (Unattached), Mary Therese McDonnell (Chicago Red Stars), Fiona O’Sullivan (SC Frieburg), Denise O’Sullivan (Cork Women’s FC), Deirdre Doherty (IT Sligo), Ruesha Littlejohn (Glasgow City), Geraldine McLaughlin (IT Sligo), Dora Gorman (Peamount United).


Austria Squad: Verena Aschauer (BV Cloppenburg), Nina Burger (SV Neulengbach), Laura Feiersinger (Bayern München), Virginia Kirchberger (BV Cloppenburg), Anna-Carina Kristler (SK Sturm Graz Damen / Stattegg), Lisa Makas (ASV Spratzern), Heike Manhart (SK Sturm Graz Damen / Stattegg), Jennifer Pöltl (ASV Spratzern) Nadine Prohaska (ASV Spratzern), Jelena Prvulovic (USC Landhaus), Sarah Puntigam (SC Kriens), Viktoria Schnaderbeck (Bayern München), Julia Tabotta (ASV Spratzern), Elisabeth Tieber (VfL Sindelfingen), Katia Trödthandl (Valencia CF Femenino), Carina Wenninger (Bayern München), Sarah Zadrazil (ETSU Buccaneers), Manuela Zinsberger (SV Neulengbach).

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to manage them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site