Student Sport Ireland (formerly CUSAI) women’s football squad are all set for the World University Games which will be held in Kazan, Russia, from July 5 to 17.

The World University Games which take place every two years represents the pinnacle of Third Level sport on a global scale with approximately 13,000 students, from over 150 countries, competing at the multi-sport event which is akin to the Olympic Games in terms of standards, scale and participation. Ireland last competed in the football competitions in 2009 in Belgrade. 

Women’s Manager and Republic of Ireland Senior International Manager Sue Ronan commented: “This is a wonderful achievement for the students selected to represent their college and Ireland at this prestigious event. We're all looking forward to the experience, but we're going into the unknown a little, because we've no knowledge of our group opponents, apart from the fact that China are the current holders and women's football is strong in all 3 countries!  However we've a great mix of experienced and fringe WNT players in the squad, plus a few others who have played underage for Ireland, so I'm looking forward to the challenge.  Unfortunately we've not had that much time together as a squad to prepare for various reasons, but we've 4 days to fine tune things once we arrive in Kazan before our first game on July 5th

The Women’s Squad will play six games and the schedule for the three group games are as follows:
Friday, July 5: China v Ireland. Sunday, July 7: Canada v Ireland. Tuesday, July 9:Mexico v Ireland. Three play-off fixtures will take place on July 11, 13 and 15.

Ireland Women’s Squad: Goalkeepers: Eve Badana (Drexel University USA), Roisin Mc Cafferty (IT Sligo/Kilmacrennan Celtic). Defenders: Karen Duggan (University of Limerick/Peamount Utd), Zoe Murphy (UCC/Ballincollig AFC), Sophie Perry (University of Brighton/Brighton & Hove Albion), Jessica Gleeson (Waterford IT/Wexford Youths Women’s FC), Lauren Murphy (UCC/ Cork Women's FC), Seana Cook (DIT/Raheny Utd). Midfielders: Ciara Grant (UCD/ Raheny Utd), Dora Gorman (UCD/ Peamount Utd), Catherine Cronin (UCD/ Raheny Utd), Jetta Berrill (UCD/Peamount Utd),  Julieanne Russell (University of Limerick/Peamount Utd), Siobhan Killeen (UCD/ Raheny Utd), Emma Hansberry (IT Sligo/Castlebar Celtic). Forwards: Aileen Gilroy (IT Sligo), Deirdre Doherty (IT Sligo), Shaunagh Jackson (Athlone IT/Castlebar Celtic), Geraldine Mc Laughlin (IT Sligo/Kilmacrennan Celtic), Sara Lawlor (NUI Maynooth/ Peamount Utd). 

 Manager: Sue Ronan (FAI), Assistant Manager: Gerard Dunne (FAI),  Performance Analyst/Goalkeeping Coach: Emma Martin (FAI), Equipment Officer:  Maz Sweeney (Athlone IT).

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to manage them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site