Wexford Youths completed a historic treble as they defeated Peamount United 1-0 at the Aviva Stadium on Sunday afternoon to add the Continental Tyres FAI Women’s Cup to their Development Shield and League title successes.

A superb finish from Katrina Parrock in the first half was enough to see Wexford end a memorable season by lifting the FAI Cup for the second time in their history and the first time since 2015.

Peamount started the match brightly and they went close to taking the lead in the tenth minute but Aine O’Gorman’s effort from the edge of the box was brilliantly tipped over her bar by Sophie Lenehan.

United, who were looking to secure a double following their 2-1 win against Youths in the League cup final, again threatened midway through the first half but Megan Smyth-Lynch fired over the bar after being teed up by Amber Barrett.

Wexford soon gained control of proceedings and they thought they had taken the lead in the 34th minute when Edel Kennedy fired home from close range but it was rightly disallowed due to a foul from Rianna Jarrett in the build-up.

But Youths wouldn’t be denied for too much longer as they edged in front moments later thanks to the player of the match Katrina Parrock.

Jarret headed Emma Hansberry’s cross from the right into the path of Parrock and following a superb touch on the turn, the winger coolly tucked the ball into the bottom left corner.

Peamount had to better of a tame second period with Karen Duggan, Amber Barrett and Aine O’Gorman going close to finding a leveller but it wasn’t to be their day as Wexford hung on to claim the honours.

WEXFORD YOUTHS: Sophie Lenehan; Nicola Sinnott, Lauren Dwyer, Orlaith Conlon, Doireann Fahey; Kylie Murphy; Emma Hansberry, Edel Kennedy, Aisling Frawley, Katrina Parrock (McKenna Davidson 79); Rianna Jarrett (Orla Casey 71). 

PEAMOUNT UNITED: Naoisha McAloon; Lauryn O’Callaghan (Louise Masterson 90), Chloe Moloney, Louise Corrigan, Lucy McCartan (Claire Walsh 56); Niamh Farrelly, Karen Duggan; Aine O’Gorman, Eleanor Ryan-Doyle, Megan Smyth-Lynch (Dearbhaile Beirne 68); Amber Barrett.

Referee: Vicki McEnery.