Galway WFC have progressed to the semi-finals of the Só Hotels FAI Cup after beating DLR Waves 1-0 at Eamonn Deacy Park on Saturday evening.

McKenna Doyle scored the single goal in what was a tough encounter with few clear cut chances for either side.

Aoife Thompson struck the ball just wide of goal in the 15th minute after a simple pass through the defence from Sadhbh Doyle. Sophie Lenehan was straight off her line to close down the striker, forcing Thompson to rush her shot.

In the 26th minute McKenna could have put the home side in the lead after Chloe Singleton tied her into the play down the right wing. She took the ball into the box and pulled it back for herself to get past the defence but her shot was too tame to cause any real worry for the goalkeeper.

Méabh De Burca got high up the field as the ball was played out to the left flank, she put a perfect cross across goal towards Doyle and the American managed to beat Ally O’Keeffe and Fiona Donnelly to the ball in the air to nod it across the line.

Just before half time Ally O’Keeffe pulled off two great last ditch challenges to deny Galway two goals. First to deny Sadhbh Doyle and shortly after Aoife Thompson with two stellar tackles deep inside the box.

In the 67th minute McKenna Doyle sent the ball inches wide of the goal again. Aoife Thompson was the provider out on the right flank, Doyle took on the snapshot but could not keep the ball on target.

Sinead Donovan headed the ball towards goal in the 76th minute but she could not get the power she wanted with her back to the goal and Lenehan easily collected the ball.

With five minutes to go DLR had a great chance to force extra time when Catherine Cronin smashed a shot at goal from close range. Abbie Ronayne just managed to beat the ball away with her fists to hold on to the win for Galway.

Galway WFC: Abbie Ronayne; Shauna Fox, Keara Cormican, Rachel Baynes (Tessa Mullins, 66), Sadhbh Doyle; Méabh De Burca, Chloe Singleton, Lynsey McKey, Sinead Donovan; Aoife Thompson, McKenna Doyle.

DLR Waves: Sophie Lenehan; Jenny O’Keeffe, Katie Burdis, Roisin McGovern, Ally O’Keeffe, Fiona Donnelly, Orla Casey (Jetta Berill, 56), Nadine Clare, Leeann Payne, 84), Niamh Prior (Kerri Letmon, 67), Catherine Cronin.

Referee: Beachla Folan.



We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to manage them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site