As Peamount United prepare to enter into the UEFA Women's Champions League lottery, it is curious to reflect on how the Women's National League representatives have fared over recent years.

Before the League started up in 2011, Ireland had many teams fly the tricolour on the European stage, including Dundalk, Galway WFC, Mayo, St Francis, Shamrock Rovers, and UCD. Since then it has been between Peamount, Raheny United, Shelbourne and Wexford Youths.

Both Peamount and Raheny are the only teams, thus far, to advance from the group stages, where they were undone by Paris Saint-Germain and Bristol Academy respectively.

Now The Peas are preparing to take on Glasgow City - who have a former Raheny striker in their ranks in Clare Shine - and hope that they can advance in the competition, just like they did in their first involvement in it.



Group Stage: Rayo Vallencano 1-0 Peamount United
Group Stage: Peamount United 7-0 Krka
Group Stage: Parnu JK 1-5 Peamount United
Round of 32: Peamount United 0-2 Paris Saint-Germain
Round of 32: Paris Saint-Germain 3-0 Peamount United

Group Stage: SFK 2000 4-0 Peamount United
Group Stage: Peamount United 5-0 ASA Tel Aviv University
Group Stage: Cardiff Met. Ladies 0-4 Peamount United

Group Stage: MTK 3-2 Raheny United
Group Stage: Raheny United 1-2 Zhytlobud-1 Kharkiv 
Group Stage: Crusaders Strikers 1-2 Raheny United

Group Stage: Olimipa Cluj 1-2 Raheny United
Group Stage: Raheny United 2-0 NSA Sofia
Group Stage: Hibernians 1-2 Raheny United
Round of 32: Raheny United 0-4 Bristol Academy
Round of 32: Bristol Academy 2-1 Raheny United

Group Stage: Gintra Universitetas 0-1 Wexford Youths
Group Stage: Wexford Youths 0-6 Medyk Konin
Group Stage: Cardiff Met. 1-5 Wexford Youths

Group Stage: BIIK Kazygurt 3-1 Wexford Youths
Group Stage: Wexford Youths 1-2 Gintra Universitetas
Group Stage: ARF Criuleni 0-0 Wexford Youths

Group Stage: Medyk Konin 0-0 Shelbourne
Group Stage: Shelbourne 0-0 PK-35 Vantaa
Group Stage: Linfield 1-3 Shelbourne

Group Stage: Ajax 4-1 Wexford Youths
Group Stage: Wexford Youths 0-3 Por/KA
Group Stage: Linfield 2-3 Wexford Youths

Group Stage: Wexford Youths 1-3 Vllaznia
Group Stage: Gintra Universitetas 1-2 Wexford Youths
Group Stage: Birkirkara 2-7 Wexford Youths



8 - Sara Lawlor (Peamount United)
7 - Stephanie Roche (Peamount United)
4 - Clare Shine (Raheny United), Carol Breen, Kylie Murphy (Wexford Youths)
3 - Louise Quinn (Peamount United), Noelle Murray (Raheny United), Rianna Jarrett (Wexford Youths)
2 - McKenna Davidson, Edel Kennedy (Wexford Youths)
1 - Rachel Jenkins, Julie-Ann Russell, Denise O'Sullivan (Peamount United), Rebecca Creagh, Catherine Cronin, Katie McCabe, Pearl Slattery, Mary Waldron (Raheny United), Fiona Donnelly, Kate Mooney, Niamh Prior (Shelbourne), Becky Cassin, Lauren Dwyer, Jessica Gleeson, Lauren Kelly, Claire O'Riordan, Ciara Rossiter (Wexford Youths)