The 2022 SSE Airtricity Women's National League will be made up of 10 teams after Sligo Rovers had their application approved.

The addition of a 10th team means that clubs will face each other three times in a 27-game League season.

The Bit O' Red will become the 16th different team to feature in the League since its inaugural season in 2011. The club have been involved with the EA SPORTS Under-17 and Under-19 Women's National Leagues.

Both Shamrock Rovers and Treaty United have been given the green light to join the EA SPORTS Under-19 Women's National League having previously competed in the U-17 tier.

Two new clubs will debut in the U-17 League with Cobh Ramblers and Dundalk getting involved ahead of the 2022 season.

League of Ireland Director Mark Scanlon said: "After such a brilliant season, with records broken and new initiatives taking off, it is exciting to be welcoming a new club in Sligo Rovers to the SSE Airtricity Women's National League.

"Sligo Rovers have a long history in the League of Ireland of being successful on the pitch and progressive off it. I'm sure that they will add that same professional approach to their women's set-up, as has already been seen with their Women's Under-17 and Under-19 teams.

"It is also fantastic to see the EA SPORTS Underage Women's National Leagues continue to grow with Shamrock Rovers and Treaty United strengthening the Under-19 League, while Cobh Ramblers and Dundalk get involved for the first time through the Under-17 League.

"We are looking forward to working with each of the clubs as we set about making the 2022 season just as memorable for the right reasons."

The fixtures for the 2022 SSE Airtricity Women's National League, EVOKE.ie FAI Women's Cup and EA SPORTS Underage Women's National Leagues will be released before Christmas.